Inkheart (Inkworld #1)

Inkheart (Inkworld, #1)

Author: Cornelia Funke

Publisher: Scholastic Paperbacks

Release Date: 6/1/2005

Rating:

Quote I liked:

“’Every book should begin with attractive endpapers,’ he had once told Meggie. ‘Preferably in a dark color: dark red or dark blue depending on the binding. When you open the book it’s like going to the theater. First you see the curtain. Then it’s pulled aside and the show begins.’”

 

Goodreads Synopsis:

“Twelve-year-old Meggie learns that her father, who repairs and binds books for a living, can “read” fictional characters to life when one of those characters abducts them and tries to force him into service.

 

Characters from books literally leap off the page in this engrossing fantasy. Meggie has had her father to herself since her mother went away when she was young. Mo taught her to read when she was five, and the two share a mutual love of books. He can “read” characters out of books. When she was three, he read aloud from a book called Inkheart and released characters into the real world. At the same time, Meggie’s mother disappeared into the story. This “story within a story” will delight not just fantasy fans, but all readers who like an exciting plot with larger-than-life characters.”

 

My Thoughts:

One thing that stood out in this book was the language. Funke wrote very beautifully and it had a myriad of quotes that I absolutely loved! Each chapter began with a quote from another book that foreshadowed what would occur in the following chapter. I really enjoyed that aspect of the book. I thought that the story was a creative idea, which could have made for a fantastic novel. I had seen the movie based off of this book a few years ago, which I adored. That is probably the main reason that I wanted to read Inkheart. I also have heard many great things about the tale as well.

 

That being said, I did not like the pacing of this book at all. I felt as if the book was about 500 pages, give or take a few, of words and about 100 to 200 of actual content. I found the majority of the novel a struggle to read, as it did not really engage me. I did not really get into the story until the last few chapters when it started to pick up.

 

Overall, I thought this book was “okay.” There were some facets of it that I really loved, but generally it was a dreary read for me. I will be reading the next book in the trilogy soon, as I am curious to see whether it is any better then the first. I have heard a great amount of positive reviews about this novel, so if you feel as if you may like it check it out, because many people did enjoy it! Personally, if someone was deciding between reading the book or watching the move, I would urge them to watch the movie instead of reading the book.

-Kathy

The Book: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28194.Inkheart

 

-Kathy

Leave a Reply

