Live and Let Shop (Spy Goddess #1)

Live and Let Shop (Spy Goddess, 1)

Author: Michael P. Spradlin

Publisher: Open Road Media YA

Release Date: 12/10/13

Rating:

four stars

*I received this book for review from NetGalley*

Quotes I liked:

“Sweet. reasonable, non-conspiracy-believing Pilar. So much work to do on her.”

“If I got out of this, I swore, I would write down a list of good comebacks and memorize it.”

Goodreads Synopsis:

“The hilarious new series Spy Goddess launches in paperback, bringing this witty combination of espionage, action, mystery, and girlpower to a wider audience.

Blackthorn Academy, meet Rachel Buchanan

I’m not a delinquent…I’m just misunderstood.

Of course, the judge didn’t see it that way. She gave me a choice: juvenile detention or boarding school in Pennsylvania, of all places. That’s how I wound up at freaky Blackthorn Academy. This school is clearly hiding some major secrets.

And here’s something you should know about me: Rachel Buchanan never gives up when there are secrets to uncover. Watch out, Blackthorn Academy!

This new series is funny, fast–paced, and perfect for fans of Alias, Charlie’s Angels, or Buffy.”

My Thoughts:

This was a very light read. If you are looking for a novel that is cute, but still interesting, then this is your book! I thought that it was very witty with well-written humor. The characters were adorable and I felt so connected to them. And can we please talk about the plot twist? The plot twist. Oh, the plot twist. It was extremely unexpected and I thought it was absolutely genius! The plot twist made this book so much better than what I expected.

There were a few mistakes in this book. Spradlrin tended to contradict himself occasionally. There were a couple places in the novel where he would say one thing in a sentence and then a few sentences later, would claim something differently or write the complete opposite of what was said previously. Besides that, though, I did not find anything else that I had complaint about.

Overall, I really liked this book! I would definitely recommend reading it. I would probably recommend it to age 13 or 14 and up.

-Kathy

The Book: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/19402043-live-and-let-shop

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s