The Elite (Selection Novel #2)

The Elite (The Selection, #2)

 

Author: Kiera Cass

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers

Release Date: 4/32/2013

Rating:

 

**Warning: There may be spoilers for The Section in this review.**

Quote I liked:

“Perhaps the highlight was Natalie on top of the table, doing some kind of dance that made her look like an octopus.”

Goodreads Synopsis:

Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection. All but six have been sent home. And only one will get to marry Prince Maxon and be crowned princess of Illea.

America still isn’t sure where her heart lies. When she’s with Maxon, she’s swept up in their new and breathless romance, and can’t dream of being with anyone else. But whenever she sees Aspen standing guard around the palace, and is overcome with memories of the life they planned to share. With the group narrowed down to the Elite, the other girls are even more determined to win Maxon over—and time is running out for America to decide.

Just when America is sure she’s made her choice, a devastating loss makes her question everything again. And while she’s struggling to imagine her future, the violent rebels that are determined to overthrow the monarchy are growing stronger and their plans could destroy her chance at any kind of happy ending.


My Thoughts:

     Where on earth should I begin with this book? I suppose I’ll start with the fact that I absolutely loved the pacing in The Elite.  In many books, as I’m sure the majority of you have experienced, there often seem to be excessive details or moments taking place that seem as if an author wrote them simply to increase the book’s page count. They don’t add to the story at all. In this book,  I was completely happy with the fact that there were none of these moments. Every sentence contributed to the story and made for an enthralling tale. The characters were well developed and I felt extremely connected to the them. 

     There was really only one thing that I disliked in the book. The author  seemed to contradicted herself about a certain topic in the novel. For fear of spoilers for The Elite, I will refrain from writing what she contradicted herself about, but it was not a huge part of the story, just a minor detail. I fell in love when I read The Selection only to have said admiration increase in The Elite. This book was completely engrossing, and I am waiting in suspense for the publication of the next book in the Selection Series. I would recommend this to ages 15 and above, and of course I would highly suggest reading The Selection before beginning The Elite. 

-Kathy

The Book: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16248068-the-elite?ac=1

 

Leave a Reply

