The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian

Author: Sherman Alexie, Ellen Forney (Illustrator) 

Publisher: Little, Brown Books For Young Readers

Release Date: 9/12/07

Rating:

four stars

Quote I liked:

“Life is a constant struggle between being an individual and being a member of the community.” 

Goodreads Synopsis:

In his first book for young adults, bestselling author Sherman Alexie tells the story of Junior, a budding cartoonist growing up on the Spokane Indian Reservation. Determined to take his future into his own hands, Junior leaves his troubled school on the rez to attend an all-white farm town high school where the only other Indian is the school mascot. Heartbreaking, funny, and beautifully written, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, which is based on the author’s own experiences, coupled with poignant drawings by acclaimed artist Ellen Forney, that reflect the character’s art, chronicles the contemporary adolescence of one Native American boy as he attempts to break away from the life he was destined to live.

My Thoughts:

      This book was part of my English curriculum for school, but I enjoyed it so much that I thought I would post about it. I have seen it around bookstores more frequently, although that could just be because I hadn’t heard of it until this year. This book had delightfully humorous cartoons in it. They made me laugh and I loved that about them. This book also had great character development, pacing, and connection. Something hugely important for me in books is whether I can connect with the characters or not. This book satisfied that and then some. I felt what the main character felt and could envision myself in the novel. The morals and lessons I got from this book were amazing. It truly showed the reader the meaning of equality and strength.

      I would recommend this book to 15 or 16 and up. Be aware that this book is fairly crude and uses foul language.

-Kathy

 The Book: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/693208.The_Absolutely_True_Diary_of_a_Part_Time_Indian

Leave a Reply

