Surfacing (Swann’s Landing #1)

20321706

Author: Shana Norris

Publisher: Shana Norris

Release Date: 11/15/11

Rating:

 three stars

*I received this book for review from Netgalley.*

Quote I Liked:

“‘Every finfolk can sing the Song. You just have to learn the melody.'”

Goodreads Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old Mara Westray has just lost her mother, and now, being shipped off to live with the father she doesn’t know is not how she imagined grieving. She’s already counting down the days until she turns eighteen and can leave the tiny island of Swans Landing.

But from the moment she steps off the ferry, nothing is as ordinary as it looks. Whispers of a haunting song on the wind make her see impossible things, and she isn’t sure she can trust her judgment about what is real and what isn’t anymore. Maybe she can’t even trust her judgment about quiet Josh Canavan, whose way of speaking in riddles and half-truths only confuses her more, luring her deeper into the secrets hidden beneath the ocean’s surface.

As she tries to unravel the events that led to her mom fleeing the island sixteen years ago, Mara finds that the biggest secret of all is only the beginning.

Surfacing is the first book in the Swans Landing series.

My Thoughts:

      I was really surprised by how much I enjoyed this book. I loved the plot and the  pacing of the book. I adore mermaid books, so when I saw this on Netgalley I knew I had to request it! Surfacing was very engaging and got me hooked from the beginning. The author did a fantastic job with description. I could really picture the setting and the appearance of the characters. I definitely had trouble putting this down!

      I had a few issues with the characters, however- specifically the main character. Many times throughout the book I found myself getting angry with Mara. She tended to be selfish and could not figure out seemingly simple answers to problems she was facing. There were also a few details that really did not make sense to me. I saw a few grammatical errors, but they were not really noticeable unless you looked for them.

      Overall, I liked this book. I definitely had some qualms about giving it a mere three stars as opposed to four. However, the things I didn’t enjoy about this story were too large to overlook. I would recommend this book to age 16 or 17 and up. This would be a great beach read and I really want to read the next book in the series!

-Kathy

The book: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20321706-surfacing

2 thoughts on “Surfacing (Swann’s Landing #1)

  1. Although I love the idea of mermaids (thanks to Disney’s The Little Mermaid) I still haven’t found a book about mermaids that I really love for some reason! This looks interesting though so I might pick it up, though I don’t think it will be a favorite. Great review!

    • Thanks! 🙂 I would definitely recommend picking it up, it was very interesting. I feel like mermaid books in particular are very hit or miss, like they are either really good or really boring/bad. Maybe that is just me though! Anyway, tell me what you think if you read it!

Leave a Reply

