Magical Ventures of Loli and Lenny, (Vol 3): Secret Code of Magicians (Magical Ventures of Loli and Lenny #3)

*I was sent this book for review by the author*

Magical Ventures of Loli and Lenny, (Vol 3): Secret Code of Magicians

Author: Pratibha R.D.H

Publisher: Flugel Publishing House

Release Date: 1/28/15

Rating:

1 star kiss (1)

Goodreads Synopsis:

In a secret corner of our world, unknown to most of us, there is a school … a school of magic which trains gifted young prodigies. Loli and Lenny are thrilled to know that they have been accepted by the Masters to this school called EPSMA.

Every single day in EPSMA is simply magic. How to concoct magical potions? How to cast psychic shields of protection? How to communicate with animals? These are just some of the many classes that they relish as they dabble with magic every day. It was like a dream come true for these passionate nine-year-olds.

Soon they realise that the Earth Paladins guard a Secret Code which has been mysteriously sabotaged. The very survival of the organisation of Earth Paladins, and indeed planet Earth itself, depends on the salvation of this code …

What is this Secret Code? And who has messed with it? The young Paladins will soon find out as they embark on their third mission to unearth the Secret Code of Magicians …

My Thoughts:

      I want to start off by apologizing to the author. I genuinely hate giving one star ratings and reviews. I feel really badly about doing so, but at the same time I have to be honest. The author was really sweet and has also written several other books, none of which I have read, so I did not necessarily have the context of the series when I read it. Also to anyone reading this, keep in mind that every reading experience is different so you might read this book and absolutely love it. It just was not my cup of tea, but hey some people prefer coffee so definitely don’t be turned off from reading a book because someone gave it a bad review.

      Firstly, I want to talk about the plot. I thought the idea was cute and when I was younger-this book is a middle-grade read-I totally would have picked up the book based off of its synopsis. However, when I was reading it there was so much going on that not all of it seemed to be connected to the main crux of the novel. I did not quite understand where it was going in some situations. The characters were okay and would have been a lot better with more development as I didn’t feel essentially any connection with them. I had a major issue with the pacing of the story. I couldn’t get into at all to be completely honest, and the book moved really slowly for me. I started it in April and finished it two days ago; I really had a hard time carrying through with it and I think most of that had to do with the pacing and organization of the storyline.

      Secondly, I want to talk about the writing. I saw a good amount of both grammatical errors and “informational” errors, meaning some things that the characters did didn’t align with what should have been done…if that makes sense-if not, let’s just move on…To me the writing was extremely underdeveloped and needed much better transitions between sentences and events. I also think that it needed better word choice, as some of the words the authoress used did not completely fit into the context they were written in.

      Generally, I had trouble understanding a large portion of this novel. It seemed like she was really trying to create a world similar to that of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson, and did not necessarily succeed. However, I do think that the book certainly had its good portions and I definitely loved the illustrations scattered throughout it. As I stated previously, take this review with a grain of salt because everyone has different perspectives.

Have a marvelous weekend,

Kiss 4

Leave a Reply

