The Princess Diaries (The Princess Diaries #1)

Author: Meg Cabot

Publisher: Turtleback Books

Release Date: 06/01/2001

Rating:

5 star kiss

Goodreads Synopsis:

Mia Thermopolis is pretty sure there’s nothing worse than being a five-foot-nine, flat-chested freshman, who also happens to be flunking Algebra.

Is she ever in for a surprise.

First Mom announces that she’s dating Mia’s Algebra teacher. Then Dad has to go and reveal that he is the crown prince of Genovia. And guess who still doesn’t have a date for the Cultural Diversity Dance?

My Thoughts:

I AM SO ANGRY THAT I HAVEN’T READ THIS BEFORE.

Alright simmer down Kathy

*breathes* Okay I’m calm

Oh wait, NO I’M NOT

This book was adorable. I have always been, am currently, and will forever be obsessed with the movie adaptation of the novel but I have never actually read the books until now (or at least the first one). It also helped that Anne Hathaway narrated the audiobook I listened to. The book is extraordinarily different from the movie, but not in a negative way. The Princess Diaries (book) is relatable on all fronts and manages to be serious, yet hilarious at the same time.

Some differences in the book:

Mia is blonde (she dyes her hair)

I believe her full name is longer (I might be wrong about that though)

Her dad is ALIVE

The audience does not get to see Lily as frequently as we do in the movie

Similarities:

Pretty much everything else

I think that character-wise, Mia is phenomenal. She completely seems like a regular person, which in many books is not achieved and establishes a very strong relationship with the readers. I also like the way Cabot paints Mia’s father and grandmother because both of them are very distinctive in their characters.

Generally, I would recommend this to ages 13 and up and I especially recommend both watching the movie and reading the book. If you want to read my first Cabot review click here and hopefully I’ll have a review of the second book in the series up soon (it’ll probably be more of a discussion, so if anyone wants to buddy read the rest of the series with me shoot me a goodreads message or an email).

Have a stellar week,

Kiss 4

4 thoughts on “The Princess Diaries (The Princess Diaries #1)

Leave a Reply

