Happiness.

Hi Lovely Readers,

Maybe it’s just my perception, but I think that in today’s day and age there is a huge focus on people against the world. By this I mean that in a way we are told that to show kindness is to show vulnerability and to show vulnerability is to show that we are not in fact perfect. As a high school student, I often see teenagers putting up emotional shields so that they cannot show their peers when they’ve been hurt by something another person has said. I also see a trend where individuals define themselves by their number. They need to have x amount of likes on their instagram posts or x amount of whatever on their social media platform. If I’m honest, I’m guilty of taking down pictures if they haven’t gotten the number of likes that I wanted. I have stopped doing this because I realize just how harmful that thinking is. I have come to the firm conclusion that I want people to genuinely like my posts and the number isn’t as important as the intention. As a disclaimer, I am in no way one of those people who think that social media is negative and on the contrary, I think social media has changed the world in a positive way. It has expanded communication and I definitely think it has encouraged education and empathy (I can write more about this in a later post if anyone wants me to).

As a whole I have seen a LOT of people, lumping myself into this group, who rely on external sources for happiness. They depend on relationships, grades, parties, etc. to give them joy. Now don’t get me wrong, all of those things could potentially bring some form of happiness if they are healthy, but when they aren’t there is a problem. Personally, I have a hard time with mistakes. Many of my friends and family members would, and have, describe me as a perfectionist. If something I submit to school isn’t satisfactory or if events don’t unfold in a way that I planned them to I get really down on myself. Something that I have come to realize, and I am no way an expert, is that we need to be the source of our own happiness. As weird as this might sound, you need to be your own best friend in order to be someone else’s. This is absolutely something that I have been trying to work on and hopefully someday I’ll get there completely. That is essentially the point of this blog post: if you’re stressed out about something or are blaming yourself for something take a moment to BREATHE. Sometimes the answers you are looking for don’t come right away and sometimes they don’t come in the way that you expect them to. Every situation is what you make of it and with positivity the whole world looks brighter.

Also, to all of my French bloggers and readers, I am so sorry about the tragedies that have been brutally inflicted upon your country. There are not enough words that I can use to describe how I feel, but stay strong and you have my support and love.

Love Always,

Kiss 4

7 thoughts on “Happiness.

  1. I couldn’t agree more. I see so many who are missing out on true happiness and pushing away valuable relationships rather than showing any vulnerability. It can be a bit of a ‘hurt before getting hurt’ sort of world. Good topic.. It is nice to meet you, BTW. New follower.

  2. Great post. Unfortunately I have found that with age the barrier thing only gets worse because the world had become a place where interests overcome true friendship and nothing lasts forever. So, as you put it, you really do need to become your best friend. Anything else is a bonus.

    • Thanks for commenting! You make a good point: it doesn’t quite have an age preference, does it? People really need to be strong in themselves no matter what age they are!

Leave a Reply

