Classics I Want To Read in 2016

Hi Friends!

First, I apologize for the low energy, I am essentially falling asleep as I write this so stick with me! It’s a new year and I have decided that in 2016 I want to make a goal to read five classics that are not assigned in school. Now, you may be thinking that five does not seem like a huge number, but for me it’s a pretty realistic goal because I am a fairly slow reader to begin with. I also haven’t read too many classics in general relative to what I feel like I should have, so this should be a good way to start. I don’t typically pick my books for a challenge ahead of time because I am very much a mood reader, but I think in this case if I don’t choose them now, I may not read them at all.

Here is a tentative list of the five classics I want to read this year (this might change as I go):

  1. 725647

This is at the very top of my list, because I have been wanting to read it for AGES. I absolutely love the movie and Pride and Prejudice is one of my all time favorite books and I think I am going to love it.

2. Frankenstein

We read excerpts of this book in school this year and I really enjoyed what we studied. I was very disappointed that we were only reading a couple chapters, and I definitely want to read the whole novel. I actually rented the graphic novel from the library just this afternoon and hopefully once I finish that I will be dying to read the original text.

3. 93

I used to adore this movie when I was much younger and read the simplified classic version for children. However, I never read the original which I have always wished to do. Last Christmas, I received a gorgeous copy of the novel and I am hoping to read it this coming year.

4.

2302797

Much like the previous book on this list, I used to love watching the movie adaptation of this text and reading the simplified children’s version. Also, the same author penned my favorite book The Secret Garden, and so I hope I like this book as much as I did with that one!

5. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer (Tom Sawyer & Huckleberry Finn, #1)

 

This well known book has been sitting on my shelf for ages. I read The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn two years ago for school and I had mixed feelings about it. Of course the books are very controversial, but at the same time I think that the topic of controversy was really what the culture was like in the year of its publication. I absolutely do NOT support the racism in the book and I 125% respect those who won’t read it because of that. However in my opinion, it will be very hard to find books from that era as a whole without racist undertones, especially those from the South because of the attitude at the time–> which is not to say there is an excuse for them whatsoever, but they are there. I am very interested to see how this book compares to Huckleberry Finn. 

Those are all of my classic reads for the year (hopefully more, but I want to at least get these done)…Have you read any of them? How many classics have you read and which do you recommend?

 

Love,

Kiss 4

 

12 thoughts on “Classics I Want To Read in 2016

    • I didn’t know that; that is definitely extremely interesting!! I’m glad you liked the other ones. I’m really hoping that I do as well!

Leave a Reply

