A Christmas Kerril

*I was sent this book by the author to review honestly*

A Christmas Kerril

Author: Denise Jaden

Publisher: Createspace

Release Date: 08/17/15

Rating:

4 star kiss

Goodreads Synopsis:

In this modern take on a holiday classic, high school junior, Kerril, faces her past, present, and future to be reminded of the good in others, and in herself.

Haunted by the memory of the worst of her divorced parents’ public Christmas blowouts, Kerril, will do almost anything to avoid the upcoming tinsel-filled season. Unfortunately, a teacher with a grudge casts Kerril as the lead in the school’s holiday production. To add to the misery, she will star alongside ultra-awkward Adam as her love interest.

Wanting to ditch the play, Adam, her parents, and Christmas altogether, Kerril accepts an invitation to take off to a cabin with her ultimate dream crush, Perry – only Perry may not be the guy she hoped he was, and it’s not until she’s left Adam behind to fend for himself onstage that she realizes he might just be the guy of her dreams.

My Thoughts:

If I can be so bold, I’d like to say that this book renewed my faith in ARCS (Advanced Reader Copies). Recently, the ARCS I’ve read have disappointed me to say the least. As a result, I was actually dreading this when I first opened the book, but I was met with a pleasant surprise! I have read many reviews about A Christmas Kerril and the common theme amongst all of the negative ones was a dislike of the main character, Kerril. Yes, I did feel the same way at first, but then I thought about it and realized that because she is so selfish and miserly, it completely brings out the character change that occurs by the end of the novel. Also, it is a tale meant to mimic that of Dickins’ A Christmas Carol, and I think that the author did a great job portraying that. I wished she developed the idea of the baker a bit more (Kerril had a huge baking obsession) and added some improved transitions between certain scenes. However, as a whole, it was a very cute story that is perfect to read in snowy weather and around Christmas as well. I think with a professional editor it would be better, but in general I would highly recommend this book if you want a refreshing YA novel, with some major themes mixed in (such as bullying, speech impedments, cheating in relationships, etc.). Be aware that it does use some foul language, and disrepectful attitudes towards those with impediments  (which did really irriate me, but is essential to the plot I think).

Love,

Kiss 4

Leave a Reply

