0

The Darkest Minds

10576365

Author: Alexandra Bracken

Publisher:: Disney Hyperion

Release Date: 12/18/12

Rating:

5 star kiss

Goodreads Synopsis:

When Ruby woke up on her tenth birthday, something about her had changed. Something frightening enough to make her parents lock her in the garage and call the police. Something that got her sent to Thurmond, a brutal government “rehabilitation camp.” She might have survived the mysterious disease that had killed most of America’s children, but she and the others emerged with something far worse: frightening abilities they could not control.

Now sixteen, Ruby is one of the dangerous ones. When the truth comes out, Ruby barely escapes Thurmond with her life. She is on the run, desperate to find the only safe haven left for kids like her—East River. She joins a group of kids who have escaped their own camp. Liam, their brave leader, is falling hard for Ruby. But no matter how much she aches for him, Ruby can’t risk getting close. Not after what happened to her parents. When they arrive at East River, nothing is as it seems, least of all its mysterious leader. But there are other forces at work, people who will stop at nothing to use Ruby in their fight against the government. Ruby will be faced with a terrible choice, one that may mean giving up her only chance at having a life worth living.

My Thoughts:

I was in a reading slump until I read this book. The feeling of reading this was basically equivalent to finding five dollars in a wallet you haven’t used in a while. Meaning: I felt rich and lucky at the same time. After reading The Darkest Minds,  I was super refreshed and ready to read more. Going with the money theme, if emotions were dollar bills this book would be hanging out on a yacht docked in its own private beach.

*cough* okay

It was an emotional roller coaster and the novel was absolutely gripping. It was very empowering as well, which I loved.

I would recommend this for fans of dystopian books as well as newbies to the YA scene.

Have a lovely day,

Kiss 4

Advertisements
1

Geek Girl (Geek Girl #1)

24716635

Author: Holly Smale

Publisher: HarperTeen

Release Date: 01/27/2015

Rating:

4 star kiss

Synopsis:

Geek + runway = a runaway UK hit! Geek Girl is the first book in a hilarious, internationally bestselling series that’s perfect for fans of Louise Rennison and The Princess Diaries.

Harriet Manners is a geek. She always has been, and she thought she always would be—but when she’s discovered by a modeling agent, she leaps at the chance to reinvent herself. There’s only one problem: Harriet is the definition of awkward. Can she transform from geek to chic?

 

My Thoughts:

This book was like taking a delightful stroll through the English countryside after visiting a cozy bookstore and petting a cat. At least I’d imagine, considering I’ve never visited England, but you know… This book was charming, witty and adorably pleasant. The characters were very well developed and the book was extraordinarily unique. For me, it was highly relatable and I loved how the author used to be a model. I assume she was writing a lot of it from experience. I adored the voice she used to write it and I saw a lot of symbolism mixed into the novel which surprised me and excited me.

The only critique I have about this book was that some of the humor was a tad crude, but in general it was a lovely read. I’d recommend this book to anyone who likes YA, but particularly anyone who wants to jump into the YA pool for the first time.

Kiss 4

0

BBBBeeeeeaaaaaaaaccchhhhh

Why Kathy would you ever give this post that title?

My answer, dear invisible friend asking me, is I ran out of the creative genius I frequently use for artsy endeavors (which I will admit actually never happens) and as a result you have: BBBBeeeeeaaaaaaaaccchhhhh. Hopefully you read this with an “ahhhh” sort of feeling in which case maybe you like it, but if you read it any other way, I deeply apologize for irritating you.

ANYWAY

If you read my last post you would know that I just went to the beach (by just I mean like a week or two ago) and I acquired some new books. Unfortunately I didn’t get that much reading done, and only read a bit of

Northanger Abbey

(not the same edition)

Despite bringing six books with me-better overprepared than under I always say (well I sometimes say. Okay I think it occasionally but it counts)

But while I was there I did acquire some books, as the local library down the beach was having a book sale. So I got:

The complete Lux series, one of my all time favorites

(Number one is pictured)

19081403

953260

439275

and a couple Chicken Soup for the Soul books

So yep a little disappointed with what I hadn’t read but it was a relaxing weekend so that’s all that matters!

To all of my fellow American readers, I hope  you have a happy and safe fourth of July!

Love,

Kiss 4