Geek Girl (Geek Girl #1)

24716635

Author: Holly Smale

Publisher: HarperTeen

Release Date: 01/27/2015

Rating:

4 star kiss

Synopsis:

Geek + runway = a runaway UK hit! Geek Girl is the first book in a hilarious, internationally bestselling series that’s perfect for fans of Louise Rennison and The Princess Diaries.

Harriet Manners is a geek. She always has been, and she thought she always would be—but when she’s discovered by a modeling agent, she leaps at the chance to reinvent herself. There’s only one problem: Harriet is the definition of awkward. Can she transform from geek to chic?

 

My Thoughts:

This book was like taking a delightful stroll through the English countryside after visiting a cozy bookstore and petting a cat. At least I’d imagine, considering I’ve never visited England, but you know… This book was charming, witty and adorably pleasant. The characters were very well developed and the book was extraordinarily unique. For me, it was highly relatable and I loved how the author used to be a model. I assume she was writing a lot of it from experience. I adored the voice she used to write it and I saw a lot of symbolism mixed into the novel which surprised me and excited me.

The only critique I have about this book was that some of the humor was a tad crude, but in general it was a lovely read. I’d recommend this book to anyone who likes YA, but particularly anyone who wants to jump into the YA pool for the first time.

Kiss 4

Advertisements

One thought on “Geek Girl (Geek Girl #1)

  1. Pingback: Recommendations for New YA Readers | The Novelty of Life

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s