Fangirl

16068905

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Release Date: 9/10/13

Rating:

4 star kiss

GoodReads Synopsis:

From the author of the New York Times bestseller Eleanor & Park.

A coming-of-age tale of fan fiction, family and first love.

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…

But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words… And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

“Touching and utterly real.” —  Publisher’s Weekly

My Thoughts:

First, I would like to note that I buddy read this book with Olivia from Brewing Up Books. While she was not the biggest fan of this book, I loved it! I thought the writing devices she used in the novel was very creative and I also enjoyed the snippets of fanfiction and it’s parent work mixed into the book. Fangirl was exactly what I needed to read right now and I very much related to the main character. I also loved the romance element and thought the romance development was very sweet.

I did not like, which Olivia and I agreed upon, the fact that some characters like Reagan and Cath’s mother got sort of swept to the side while certain things were happening in the book. Rowell certainly could have developed the relationship with the mother more. Overall though, I thoroughly enjoyed Fangirl. Was it better than Eleanor and Park? I liked it about the same, perhaps a little less, but it is such a different plotline that for me it is difficult to compare the two. I’d recommend this book especially to recent high school grads/college freshman.

Love,

Kiss 4

2 thoughts on “Fangirl

  1. Loved reading this. Fangirl was such a sweet little story and I agree with you on a lot of things when it comes down to it, especially when characters kind of just got brushed aside. I’m glad you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

